Human nature is such that it wants to plan ahead and feel in control and organised. And if we look at it, in life it sometimes is necessary to plan ahead. Some people like to plan day by day as it comes; some choose to plan a month ahead and others plan years ahead.

As many of my readers will be aware, I was suffering from appendicitis. I’ve had this problem since February and was admitted in emergency on two occasions, only to be discharged and put on the NHS waiting list.

Recently, I received a letter letting me know that I had a place in the hospital to have my surgery done and should contact the hospital. I was given Thursday 13th July 2006 to have a pre-assessment and thereafter be admitted on Wednesday 19th 2006. The operation was booked for Thursday 20th 2006 and my discharge date as Friday 21st of July 2006.

I had all these dates a week in advance and naturally I started planning out what I would be doing during the following week.

However, to cut a long story short, when I went for my pre-assessment on Thursday, I was admitted in emergency and had the operation done on the same day. The operation was a little ‘messy’ and it meant that I had to be in the hospital a day extra and was discharged on Saturday.

When I came out of Hospital, I was just thinking how I had planned a whole week ahead whereas everything happened to the contrary and finished within the week.

POINT 1

As I mentioned, in life it is neccessary to plan ahead. But it is far more necessary to realise that our planning ahead should be only limited to our worldly acts, for if the wordly acts are left out for any reason the consequences cannot be that bad.

However, in actions regarding our Hereafter, we should never leave anything til later but instead strive to commit and carry out that act as soon as possible. For if the acts of our hereafter are left out then the consequences and regrets are far greater.

POINT 2

When planning for anything we should never in our minds think that this is exactly what will happen. Instead we should pray to Allah to make matters easy for us and remember that life is unpredictable, one minute we are here, the next we could be gone.

POINT 3

Finally, there is no gift like health. Whilst in hospital, and even looking at myself, I can realise how the strongest of people crumble under pain. When our health is not to a level we can’t even worship Allah to our maximum limits. This is why we have been told by the Prophet صلي الله عليه و سلم:

“Take benefit of five before five:

1. Your youth before your old age,
2. Your health before your sickness,
3. Your wealth before your poverty,
4. Your free-time before your preoccupation, and
5. Your life before your death.”

[Bayhaqee]

May Allah give us all good health so that we can use it in His worship. May He also give us the courage and understanding to carry out acts of worship as soon as possible and not leave them to a later date. Aameen.

Please remember me in your Du’as and especially make Du’as for my recovery. Insha Allah, depending on my health, I will try and update as and when possible.

